There are 21 different species of cockatoos, all of which are recognizable with their showy crests and curved bills. Cockatoos are somewhat less colourful than other parrots, with their coloured features found primarily on their crest, cheeks or tail. 

White cockatoos and smaller cockatiels are more commonly found as companions than black cockatoos, many of which are on the decline in the wild due to loss of habitat and the illegal bird trade.

Currently, seven species of cockatoo are considered to be vulnerable or worse, including the red-vented cockatoo and the yellow-crested cockatoo, which are listed as critically endangered. 

Genus:  Probosciger, Callocephalon, Nymphicus, Calyptorhynchus, Eolophus, Lophochroa, Cacatua

Habitat:  Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. 

Baudin's Black Cockatoo


Gang-gang Cockatoo

Little Corella

Palm Cockatoo

Slender-billed Corella

White-crested Cockatoo

Blue-eyed Cockatoo

Ducorp's Cockatoo

Glossy Black Cockatoo

Major Mitchell's Cockatoo

Red-tailed Black Cockatoo

Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

Yellow-crested Cockatoo

Carnaby's Black Cockatoo

Galah Cockatoo

Goffin's Cockatoo

Moluccan Cockatoo

Red-vented Corella

Western Corella

Yellow-tailed Black Cocka